DVR Chatter

Discussing the DCT-6412, Home Theater Devices, Entertainment, Celebrity and the Cable Industry. Not affiliated with any Cable Company, Hardware Manufacturer or Software Developer.



You are not logged in.

-->

#26 02-21-2007 12:20:02 PM

loub555
Member
From: Savannah, Ga.
Registered: 12-09-2005
Posts: 122
PM

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

Both, but they came back. Trying "it" one more time.

Offline

 

#27 02-21-2007 1:11:41 PM

Frank
DVR Chatter Honcho
From: Bucks, PA
Registered: 02-12-2005
Posts: 2881
PM  Website

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

loub555 wrote:

Same here, unplugging and plugging it back in brought it back.

[...]

Both, but they came back. Trying "it" one more time.

Do you by any chance write user's manuals for a living?

Offline

 

#28 02-21-2007 3:08:02 PM

loub555
Member
From: Savannah, Ga.
Registered: 12-09-2005
Posts: 122
PM

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

How did you know? lol

Offline

 

#29 02-21-2007 4:23:23 PM

andyross
Charter Member
From: Schaumburg, IL
Registered: 02-14-2005
Posts: 597
PM  Website

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

Mine was fine yesterday after the reboot, but is goofy again as of this morning.

If this is a guide data issue, any bets we'll have to put up with it for two weeks until it's expired out?

Last edited by andyross (02-21-2007 4:23:57 PM)


Sony KV-30XBR910, Sony STR-DB930, Sony DVP-NS55P, JVC HR-S3800U, Motorola DCT-6412, Sony KV-13FS100, OneForAll URC-8910.
Andy's UnEmpty Web Page
How to use a Motorola DVR

Offline

 

#30 02-21-2007 5:23:27 PM

ghoofie
Charter Member
From: Northern California, Pittsburg
Registered: 02-17-2005
Posts: 907
PM  Website

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

As of last night I had same issues, in Northern California. But my weird characters were different. It was a letter C followed by the rewind loopy arrow symbol.

Offline

 

#31 02-21-2007 5:26:05 PM

Frank
DVR Chatter Honcho
From: Bucks, PA
Registered: 02-12-2005
Posts: 2881
PM  Website

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

Stranger things have happened, but I'm not seeing how guide data could have royally screwed up the "My Recordings" screen without screwing up the Guide at all.  Sounds like Comcastic finger pointing.

Offline

 

#32 02-21-2007 6:05:01 PM

shj
Member
From: San Jose, CA
Registered: 02-24-2005
Posts: 99
PM

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

It affected units all over the country at the same time.  Other than guide data, I don't know what else could do that.  Perhaps some corrupted data in the guide is exercising a previously unknown bug in the software - a buffer overflow, or something similar.

Offline

 

#33 02-21-2007 6:36:46 PM

dar
Member
Registered: 12-01-2005
Posts: 85
PM

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

Well, lost my component and HDMI Out connections from my 6412 III.  Audio comes thru the HDMI, but no video thru neither the HDMI or Component cables.  RF signal works.
Comcast tech tried doing some resets, but nothing brought the video back.
I'm guessing it was the new software.
Looks like the box needs to be swapped.
Anybody using the 3412 or 3416?

Last edited by dar (02-21-2007 6:38:25 PM)


Mitsubishi WD-52528, Motorola DCT-3416, Denon Recvr, Sony DVD, Panasonic DVD R/VCR, Harmony Remote, KEF Speakers

Offline

 

#34 02-21-2007 7:09:50 PM

Frank
DVR Chatter Honcho
From: Bucks, PA
Registered: 02-12-2005
Posts: 2881
PM  Website

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

Did you get an error message similar to the one that this thread is about?

Offline

 

#35 02-21-2007 7:48:21 PM

dar
Member
Registered: 12-01-2005
Posts: 85
PM

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

Yeah last night I was getting the u'! and blank choices.

This evening had no video from the HDMI or Component Out.  Connections all seemed fine.  TV Input settings were haven't changed.  Comcast wasn't picking up the HDMI connector signal (I guess they can do that).  They suggested swapping the box.  My guess is it was due to the s/w upgrade.


Mitsubishi WD-52528, Motorola DCT-3416, Denon Recvr, Sony DVD, Panasonic DVD R/VCR, Harmony Remote, KEF Speakers

Offline

 

#36 02-21-2007 9:10:09 PM

HellRazor07
Charter Member
Registered: 02-15-2005
Posts: 11
PM

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

Same here, PA, Just outside of Pittsburgh.

Even the guy in my little preview screen thought it looked funny :s

Could it be a ComCastiC ViRuS?

error: image http://home.comcast.net/~hellrazor_07/Comcastic_DVR.JPG cannot be loaded.

Last edited by HellRazor07 (02-21-2007 9:20:13 PM)

Offline

 

#37 02-22-2007 2:12:11 AM

dweezil78
New member
Registered: 02-22-2007
Posts: 1
PM

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

Same thing here in LA - just slightly different weird symbols.  So glad I found this thread -- it was driving me crazy!!!  I'm actually a TWC customer now, formerly Comcast -- so it's not just effecting Comcast users it would seem.  Hope they fix it soon.  I can access thru the extra steps like everyone else, but it is rather annoying. 

Also, power cycling the box does get rid of it -- but the problem returns once the guide updates.

Offline

 

#38 02-22-2007 2:24:37 AM

shj
Member
From: San Jose, CA
Registered: 02-24-2005
Posts: 99
PM

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

It's now 12:13 AM Thursday morning here in San Jose.  Whatever the problem was, it just corrected itself.  I now have the correct display when I hit the DVR button.  It was still screwed up half an hour ago, so I guess they did something right at midnight.

As a former software guy who used to work on devices that were similar in a lot of ways to the DVR, I'd be fascinated to find out caused the problem, but of course we'll never know.

Offline

 

#39 02-22-2007 5:36:20 AM

dar
Member
Registered: 12-01-2005
Posts: 85
PM

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

I believe their software updates caused the 6412 III to fail.  I had no video with the HDMI and Component connections after this update.  Could have been a coincidence, but I doubt it.
And that's why I'm replacing it with another one- compliments of Comcast and my high monthly bill.
Now, as we've all learned with electronic products, if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
I wish Comcast would stop with these automatic updates, or at least give us an option of accepting them or not.
In this cause, it seems their updates may have lead to the premature failure of the DVR.

Last edited by dar (02-22-2007 5:44:09 AM)


Mitsubishi WD-52528, Motorola DCT-3416, Denon Recvr, Sony DVD, Panasonic DVD R/VCR, Harmony Remote, KEF Speakers

Offline

 

#40 02-22-2007 5:53:33 AM

loub555
Member
From: Savannah, Ga.
Registered: 12-09-2005
Posts: 122
PM

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

When the blank "My Recordings" screen was on, if I pushed the enter button on the remote my list of recorded shows would come up.

Offline

 

#41 02-22-2007 7:11:48 AM

LowLight21
Member
From: St. Paul, MN
Registered: 02-11-2006
Posts: 166
PM

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

Problem is corrected in Minneapolis/St. Paul area.

Offline

 

#42 02-22-2007 9:05:39 AM

dglass
New member
Registered: 02-20-2007
Posts: 5
PM

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

Problem also seems to be fixed here in central PA.

Offline

 

#43 02-22-2007 9:34:26 AM

Wareagle
Charter Member
From: Bellevue, WA
Registered: 02-15-2005
Posts: 1073
PM

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

I wish someone would fix the real problems (the ones, like the FF/REW lack of response, that don't have workarounds).  roll

Offline

 

#44 02-22-2007 10:36:18 AM

Frank
DVR Chatter Honcho
From: Bucks, PA
Registered: 02-12-2005
Posts: 2881
PM  Website

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

Wareagle wrote:

I wish someone would fix the real problems (the ones, like the FF/REW lack of response, that don't have workarounds).  roll

At this point, I'd be happy if they'd just STOP creating new problems through carelessness.  Actually fixing problems may be too much to ask.

Offline

 

#45 02-22-2007 10:44:00 AM

ghoofie
Charter Member
From: Northern California, Pittsburg
Registered: 02-17-2005
Posts: 907
PM  Website

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

I woke up to my DVR downloading again this morning for the second day in a row.
But what is kinda different , or at least I never noticed before during a download,
my SCHEDULED shows usually show TO BE ANNOUNCED until the guide catches up.
OK I understand that.   But right now, it shows many shows scheduled in days coming
up with the name of TO BE ANNOUNCED, like I would expect, but it shows  NO shows
scheduled to be recorded this evening but I have 4 or 5 things normally scheduled on
a Thursday night. So I'll have to be sure to check my schedule this evening to see if
it catches up.  Hopefully it will.

Offline

 

#46 02-22-2007 2:05:10 PM

Frank
DVR Chatter Honcho
From: Bucks, PA
Registered: 02-12-2005
Posts: 2881
PM  Website

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

Problem seems corrected here too.  They did a reset, and my guide data is SLOWLY loading back in.  All my scheduled recordings are there, but the only that's not "To Be Announced" for tonight is Grey's Anatomy (ARGGH).  Can't miss the Series Finale of the OC!

Offline

 

#47 02-22-2007 4:36:11 PM

andyross
Charter Member
From: Schaumburg, IL
Registered: 02-14-2005
Posts: 597
PM  Website

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

ghoofie wrote:

I woke up to my DVR downloading again this morning for the second day in a row.
But what is kinda different , or at least I never noticed before during a download,
my SCHEDULED shows usually show TO BE ANNOUNCED until the guide catches up.
OK I understand that.   But right now, it shows many shows scheduled in days coming
up with the name of TO BE ANNOUNCED, like I would expect, but it shows  NO shows
scheduled to be recorded this evening but I have 4 or 5 things normally scheduled on
a Thursday night. So I'll have to be sure to check my schedule this evening to see if
it catches up.  Hopefully it will.

It should reschedule as the programs reload. If you have the newer software, there are now two levels of series scheduling. There is the old twice-a-day master check at 4:20-4:50 am and pm. The new software also now seems to check as guide data is loaded and when programs are deleted (I often see repeats still tagged as 'new' suddenly get scheduled after I delete the true first run.)

What happened in your case is that the morning master scan occurred, and the guide data was missing, so it dropped the programs. As they reload, they should reappear.


Sony KV-30XBR910, Sony STR-DB930, Sony DVP-NS55P, JVC HR-S3800U, Motorola DCT-6412, Sony KV-13FS100, OneForAll URC-8910.
Andy's UnEmpty Web Page
How to use a Motorola DVR

Offline

 

#48 02-22-2007 5:11:58 PM

ghoofie
Charter Member
From: Northern California, Pittsburg
Registered: 02-17-2005
Posts: 907
PM  Website

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

I agree with Frank. Can't miss the O.C finale.  Since I won't be home I not only scheduled
it to record on DVR, but also on a VCR in a different room. Can't take any chances with
the DVR..not for the O.C finale.

Offline

 

#49 02-22-2007 6:38:11 PM

dar
Member
Registered: 12-01-2005
Posts: 85
PM

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

Out of all this mess, I wound up with a DCt 3416 I.  After the cable hook up and then a phone call, it began downloading the updates.  Looks good.  Got a love the stop and swap policy.

Last edited by dar (02-23-2007 7:50:06 AM)


Mitsubishi WD-52528, Motorola DCT-3416, Denon Recvr, Sony DVD, Panasonic DVD R/VCR, Harmony Remote, KEF Speakers

Offline

 

#50 02-22-2007 6:58:34 PM

LowLight21
Member
From: St. Paul, MN
Registered: 02-11-2006
Posts: 166
PM

Re: Error message `1A$ and missing list of recordings

Good to hear that all the serial numbers matched up on your 3416.

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson