DVR Chatter

Discussing the DCT-6412, Home Theater Devices, Entertainment, Celebrity and the Cable Industry. Not affiliated with any Cable Company, Hardware Manufacturer or Software Developer.

You are not logged in.

-->

#1 11-05-2007 2:21:54 PM

HDJoe
PM  Website

DCH-3416 General Questions

I'm new to the ins and outs of the DCH-3416.  I just got it setup and operational five days ago.  Along with the new box, I mounted a new Samsung HD LCD on the wall.  All a part of an apartment move as well.  Oh my aching back!

My first impressions of the 3416 are very good.  My wife (a non-techie) picked up on the ease of operation right away.  We compare the performance to a standard def. R15 from DirecTV.

And for anyone who hasn't gone HD ... OMG!  Just do it!

Now for the questions:

* I read some DVR Chatter posts in reference to the eSATA port.  Has this been activated to use an external drive?  It would seem this is still no.

* Other than choosing favorites, is there a way to get the Guide to show only the channels I want?

* The User Guide for the 3416 is limited (to say the least.)  Anyone have access to the service manual?  You can PM me.

* I'm going to link the 3416 to my DVD recorder (component, not computer.)  Will I still need my old GoDVD box inline to make personal archives of my favorite shows?

Thanks.

Joe

cool  My System: Comcast Motorola DCH-3416 HD-DVR (on a APC UPS), Samsung LN-T4065F LCD HD TV (on a APC voltage regulator), Sony DVD Recorder RDR-GX315, Yamaha HTR-5460 Home Theater unit, JBL satellites and sub

#2 11-05-2007 2:43:11 PM

jeffster
Charter Member
PM

Re: DCH-3416 General Questions

You do know that this is a Comcastic box not a Tivo box!

#3 11-05-2007 3:52:32 PM

Wareagle
Charter Member
PM

Re: DCH-3416 General Questions

1.  No eSATA port activation on the Motorola boxes.
2.  No way other than favorites to prune channels from the guide.